Not logged in? Join one of the largest Debt Reduction Forums on the Internet! Join Now!   Latest blog post: John Oliver Talks About Student Debt

Advertisments:

Useful Links:

FTC Debt Reduction Advice
FTC Money Matters Website
National Foundation For Credit Counselling
Debt Reduction UK
MyMoney.Gov

Can my father-in-law claim my wife as a dependent?

Taxes! We hate paying them, so let's discuss maximizing tax deductions!

Postby teiji » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:20 am

Here's the facts:

My wife and I got married in December 2010, and we were both still in college. I graduated in May 2011 and started my job in that same month (so I worked from May 2011 until the end of the year). My wife didn't graduate until July 2011 and came home that month (she went to school in another state). When she came home, we stayed at my parents house. We recently just moved to our own place, and so we lived with my parents from July 2011 until January 2012.

My wife wasn't able to get a job until December 2011, and only technically worked 2 weeks in 2011, and made about $550. From the time she got home in July, I fully supported her financially.

My father-in-law would like to claim her as a dependent and have us file "married filing separately" so he can claim her because he thinks that he supported her for "more than half the year". From January 2011 to the begining of July 2011. Can he do that? Is he right in doing that?

I'm very concerned because if I file "married filing separately", then I will owe quite a bit in taxes.
teiji

Postby bing » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:25 am

If you file jointly with your wife, as your are legally able to do, he cannot claim her. Doesn't matter what he thinks or what he would like. Ask him why you should owe money so he can get more back?
bing

Postby stiles » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:31 am

I don't think so. I certainly wouldn't allow it.
stiles

Postby delano » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:39 am