Not logged in? Join one of the largest Debt Reduction Forums on the Internet! Join Now!  

Advertisments:

Useful Links:

FTC Debt Reduction Advice
FTC Money Matters Website
National Foundation For Credit Counselling
Debt Reduction UK
MyMoney.Gov

Can my sons dad claim him on his taxes?

Taxes! We hate paying them, so let's discuss maximizing tax deductions!

Postby fogartaigh71 » Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:40 am

have two children and one on the way. My 2y/o daughter is not his but my son 10months is the baby on the way is my husbands. I was just married in June. My sons father and I were never in a relationship. We never lived together either. He has visitations on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 am- 6pm but he never does anything for my son for example he wont change his diaper the whole time their out, he smokes around my son, and my son needs a crib, but he always gives me a hard time. I am a college student right now and I receive public assistance but I am unable to get a job right now due to my busy schedule. My sons father has a job and has to pay child support due to the fact that I receive public assistance. I have not received anything from child support yet and I was told he is not keeping up with the payments. In the first 3 1/2 months after my son was born he denied him then all of a sudden in February 2012 he wanted his ss card and birth certificate and claimed it was to get him life insurance. It didn't sound right to me b/c he was denying his son for a while and all of a sudden he wanted this info? My question is being that I am my sons legal guardian, and despite the fact that the father has visitations two days a week, is he allowed to claim my son on his taxes next January? ps I filed last year in January I claimed my son and daughter which helped me get a few of the things that they both needed that his father refused to buy. Stroller, clothing, a car seat, ect. Ever since this situation in February happened he's been being a complete jerk.
fogartaigh71